Crowsnest Guide - Northern Ireland Telephone Codes

Crowsnest Home

When the telphone code for Northern Ireland was changed to 028, the digits added were chosen to give some indication of the geographic location of the number. The areas were based on counties but with the addition of Belfast and a couple of rather odd modifications.

The whole of both shores of Belfast Lough to Whitehead on the north shore and Bangor on the south was included in the Belfast area.

Newry, in south Down, was included in Armagh.

Kilrea, in County Londonderry, was included with Antrim.

Antrim itself was included with Belfast. This last is possibly associated with maintaining the fiction that Belfast International Airport is somewhere near Belfast.

AreaCodeTown / City
Antrim (excluding Antrim!)
028 20Ballycastle
028 21Martinstown
028 25Ballymena
028 27Ballymoney
028 28Larne
028 29Kilrea
Armagh (and Newry)
028 30Newry
028 37Armagh
028 38Portadown
Down (excluding Newry and Bangor to Holywood areas)
028 40Banbridge
028 41Rostrevor
028 42Kircubbin
028 43Newcastle
028 44Downpatrick
028 66Enniskillen
028 67Lisnaskea
028 68Kesh
028 70Coleraine
028 71Londonderry
028 77Limavady
028 79Magherafelt
028 80Carrickmore
028 81Newtownstewart
028 82Omagh
028 85Ballygawley
028 86Cookstown
028 87Dungannon
028 89Fivemiletown
028 10Belfast
028 90Belfast City
028 91Bangor
028 92Lisburn
028 93Ballyclare
028 94Antrim
028 95Belfast
028 97Saintfield